Category: Recap

Weekly Wrap up #17 – Slow Reading

Posted December 3, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 19 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

I’ve had a mixed reading week. It’s been a bit slow going ever since I read AN EX FOR CHRISTMAS BY LAUREN LAYNE. I really enjoyed it and it started my Christmas reading kick, unfortunately, it doesn’t feel like it’s going so well. A lot of Christmas books that I enjoy are romances, but for some reason Romances have not been working for me lately, so I am feeling a bit stuck.

I own about 127 Christmas books. You know what that makes me? A Christmas book Hoarder, heh.  So I will try and power through them.

Have you guys read anything really interesting lately? Looking to see what are your five star reviews this week/month.

Are you in the Christmas spirit yet? We are getting our tree soon, so that is exciting. I’m probably going to update the layout today or tomorrow, so hopefully I can start getting into the spirit myself.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

     

New Arrivals


  
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap up #15 – Sick again

Posted November 5, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 19 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Ugh guys, I shouldn’t be surprised by this anymore right? I have been sick for the 3rd time in the last 2 1/2 months. Twice in September, luckily not once in October, but that’s okay because it caught up with me early November. It’s amazing the amount of germs toddlers can carry!

It was a good week otherwise. Most of you have already known we had a great Halloween, got lots of chocolate, my son is obsessed with it so he was super happy he got to ask people for more chocolate heh. He went as Cat Boy from PJ Masks, but I forgot to take pictures, because I was so caught up in the moment.

I am going to continue reading thriller, mysteries and some scary stuff through November if I can because starting December 1st I am throwing myself into Holiday books, and November just happens to be a good month for the creepy stuff as well.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

   
Yes I am still reading Dreadful Dreams, no I am not hating it. It’s taking me this long because the device I was originally reading it on made a disappearing act, so I must find it 🙂

New Arrivals


 
Thank you S&S Children and Avon Publishing
From Kindle Unlimited
 

Tags:

Divider

Monthly Recap – October

Posted November 2, 2017 by Lily B in Recap / 14 Comments

It’s November!! Not sure how to feel about that, but at least this year is almost over. I am ready to put that to rest.

But how you guys are doing? We didn’t have a very colorful fall this year, which was a total bummer. It was absolutely gorgeous last year with orange and red trees. This year a storm blew threw and dropped most of the leaves or turned them this yucky brown. A shame, I didn’t get to do fall shoot with my son, there just wasn’t really a time for it.

He had a blast trick-or-treating the other day. He was so cute and shy. He knew the concept but all he did was come up to the door with us and trust his little pumpkin bag at the person and expected them to give him candy. He was excited, it was adorable. I was so wrapped up in the moment, I forgot to take a picture, blah.

So October was a great month for us, both reading and outside of reading. I am now 11 books ahead of my reading schedule, which is super exciting.I read 15 books in the month of October, 1 of them was an audiobook. But woah, did not realize that till I looked on my goodreads. Remember my 27 book October/November TBR? I read about 10/27 of the books, which I think is still good?

Book Stats for October

2 Books 4.5 stars

7 Books 4 Stars

7 Books 3.5 Stars

3 Books 3 stars

1 Book 2.5 Stars

2 of the books were reviewed by my friend and guest blogger Sophia Rose

Books Reviewed

 

 

Favorites of the Month

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #8 and April Monthly Wrap Up

Posted April 30, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 17 Comments

Weekly Recap

I haven’t done this in a few weeks. My mind hasn’t really been in the right place. I’m doing better after losing my cat, so thank you all who reached out and for your kind words. I really, really appreciate it. Also, thank you Melissa from Books and Things for the lovely key chain to honor my fallen friend. I still have a hard time especially when I see his pictures, but I am doing better.

My reading has been going okay so far. I have my good days and my bad days. I have currently read 42 out of my goal of 100. I am 10 books ahead \o/. I am struggling. Lately any adult romance I pick up have been blah. Like literally leaving me in physical paints trying to read it. I’m one of those people that cannot DNF cause I feel like I already put some time into it I have to see it through – even if it’s causing a brain bleed.

Oh well, in between trying to plow threw the books that are not working for me, I have been picking others up. Currently I am listening to Sleeping Giants and it is probably the only Audiobook ever so far that I absolutely love. I love the different cast of people, it kind of reminds me of listening to one of those old radio shows. It’s awesome.

Anyway. If you guys have some good book recommendations, I’d love to hear what you are currently reading, or what you read that you loved so far?

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

 

Monthly Wrap Up

In the month of April I read 11 books. Woah I know right? I did have some amazing reads. I really loved Alex, Approximately, Where the Dead Lie, Walk of Shame and Prisoner of Ice and Snow. I only gave one book this month and apparently this year and possibly ever a 1 star. I am starting to see that my reading and reviewing is different. I don’t give out 4.5 and 5 stars like candy. Most books average at 3 stars these days. Also, Sophia reviewed on the blog 4 times this month with some really interesting reads 🙂

Best of April

 

 

Currently Reading

1.Lethal Lies – This one is a struggle. I dislike Anya a lot, she is reckless, desperate and irritating. 2. Sleeping Giants – I am following my book while listening to the audio. I am loving this one so many levels. I wish I had more time to listen to it. 3. The Upside of Unrequited – Wish I read the blurb for this one because this one mentions body image and low self esteem and I already feel like I know where this is going and it isn’t clicking with me. I know Albertalli is beloved by people, I’m probably going to be a black sheep on this one.
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #7 – Minor Break

Posted March 26, 2017 by Lily B in Recap / 17 Comments

Weekly Recap

Hey guys! I’m taking a bit of a break here. I will probably have a post here or a post there but I am going to be mostly missing in action. I’ll try. I actually had the worse week of my life – or so it feels like right now.

My kitty of 20 passed away on me this Wednesday and I have a hard time dealing with death, especially when it’s someone close and special to me. I’m feeling a little out of it right now and a whole lot of sad.

I think it effected my mood enough that everything I am reading isn’t really sticking.

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • The Bourbon Kings (The Bourbon Kings #1) by J.R. Ward

 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #6 – Ugh SNOW

Posted March 19, 2017 by Lily B in Recap / 19 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

 

Looking back at the reviews posted this week, I cannot believe I posted them this week. It has been such a LONG week. We got snow, lots of it, about 20 inches. My husband had to go out and do snow removal 2-3 days in a row, it was a lot. On the bright side, my son enjoyed the snow maze my husband dug out for him in the front yard.

I am loving the way my reading has gone this year. Last year I read around 33 books all year? This year I am up to 27 with no signs of stopping. It kind of suck to be honest that most of my reading is done after my son goes to sleep, because I feel like a zombie most days with the lack of sleep – but with coffee we are working through it. Plus, sometimes he takes naps and this mom steals that time for cuddle naps whenever they happen.

I also just realized I have not read any good romance lately…Odd.. My taste in books has been expending and it’s nice to explore different genres. I’ll have to remedy the lack of romance this week, maybe.

I have also been into booktube lately. I like running it in the background while I do stuff and listening to like monthly wrap ups since I cannot always be at the computer, so that’s been fun.

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • The Dragon’s Price (Transference #1) by Bethany Wiggins
  • Shadow Falling (The Scorpius Syndrome, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti

New Arrivals

   
Thank you Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Next TBR

You guys voted and these next two books are my next TBRs from my ever growing pile.

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #5 – Long Cold Week

Posted March 5, 2017 by Lily B in Recap / 19 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Guys, what is happening with mother nature? One week we get beautiful weather, 70 in February with thunderstorms followed by 8 degree weather a day later. Like, really?

I had a good week in reading it seems, up until the last book I read which turned out to be a bit disappointing even thought I LOVED the beginning. The review of that book will be coming next week. I posted a poll below because I cannot decide which book I want to read from my TBR pile next and looking for some push :D. I have this weird thing, I get excited about a release and hoard it without reading it because I am just too scared, intimidated to read it? It’s weird, my husband thinks it’s weird. Oh well, moving on.

Did you guys see the post by my new guest reviewer Sophia Rose? I wanted to announce her last week, but I decided to just wait until after she posts. I’m excited to have her so look forward to more wonderful reviews from this sweet heart reviewer.

On the home front it’s been a bit crazy. Husbands birthday was yesterday, we got to celebrate with friends and that was fun which took my mind of my grandmother’s medical problems. She is in pretty rough shape, lives over seas and my mom and dad got there in time to move her to a different hospital because her current one was literally killing her. I hope she pulls through, but it’s rough right now.

Thank you to all who wished my son a happy birthday last week. I appreciate it. Even thought I did not have time to reply to the comment. I read ALL of your comments on my phone as they come in every day and I appreciate them so much. Thank you guys. I hope to get around to replies when the craziness settles. In the meantime I use that time to comment on your lovely posts instead.

The Sunday Post/Weekly Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • The Bastard Billionaire (Billionaire Bad Boys, #3) by Jessica Lemmon
  • Shadow Falling (The Scorpius Syndrome, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti
  • Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller

New Arrivals

   
Thank you S&S Children’s, Harper and the last one I won at a contest (Thank you blodeuedd)

 

What to Read Next?


Which Book Should I read From my TBR?

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty
Devil in Spring (The Ravenels #3) by Lisa Kleypas

surveys

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #4

Posted February 26, 2017 by Lily B in Recap / 21 Comments

Weekly Recap

Wow, been  a while since I did one of these. It’s been a crazy last couple of weeks. Holidays, Birthdays, Family with medical issues. One the bright side, my little man turned two last weekend! So exciting and so scary. It’s amazing how fast he is growing right before my eyes and all those proud mommy moments when he can count his fingers and is now learning to count to 20. Also the ABCs are finally coming around and it just squeezes my hearth listening to him sing a song.

I think the other stuff, the stuff that’s been causing stress is what’s been putting me in a reading slump. My mood has been blah and I am constantly looking for a book that will grip me from the start. It’s been a bit of a challenge, but I read Starlight Bridge (Harmony Harbor #2)
by Debbie Mason in one day and I loved it, just like I thought I would so I am excited.

The weather though, wow. It was 70 degrees on Friday in Pennsylvania. Yesterday was a steady downpour with lightning and thunder! It’s cold again today. I’m really hoping spring is knocking on the door cause I am so over winter.

I seemed to have had a good read in my reviews last week. Oh and I am 10 books ahead in my reading challenge. I feel I might need to up the amount of books I want to read 😀

The Sunday Post/Weekly Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • Starlight Bridge (Harmony Harbor #2) by Debbie Mason
  • Christmas with an Angel: A Short Story (Harmony Harbor, #1.5) by Debbie Mason
  • Shadow Falling (The Scorpius Syndrome, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti

New Arrivals

Thank you Margaret K. McElderry Books, Random House and Berkley.

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap – #3

Posted November 13, 2016 by Lily B in Recap / 20 Comments

Weekly Recap

It’s been a long week. Probably the longest week in my life. I’m glad it’s over. I won’t be talking about the election here. Not because I am afraid to, but because there is still a lot of feelings and thoughts that I need to wrap around before I open my mouth and voice my opinion.  Especially to family and friends who don’t feel the same way. There is a lot of anger and frustration, especially since I live in a swing state that I chose to avoid Facebook for a long while.

Other than a very stressful and sad week due to the election, it was long period. Husband got sick. God-mother’s father passed away. My father in law and I continue to clash. My mood for anything I read has been blah. I am seriously reading like 3 or 4 different books right now, hoping something sticks. Feels forced, might try something else.

I hope next week will be better. I think it will. With my husbands job wrapping up for the season, I voiced my opinion of wanting to get a job for the winter. I think it will be good for me.

Also, we started watching Superstore and Oh my goodness that is so funny. Is anyone watching Westworld? that show is so twisted, so good.

The Sunday Post/Weekly Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • Maze of Souls (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #6) by J.L. Bryan (-sigh- yea I still have not posted this)
  • One Good Eclair (A Nutrition Mafia Mystery, #1) by Maria E. Schneider
  • Christmas in Destiny (Destiny #7) by Toni Blake

New Arrivals

29934693

Thank you Harlequin. Super excited about this one.

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap – #2

Posted October 30, 2016 by Lily B in Recap / 21 Comments

Weekly Recap

It’s raining again! Where was this rain when it was hot as sin July and August? could have really used this kind of weather back than. The weather is picking up too, we are suppose to have 69 degrees next week.

I forgot to post one more review last week. It wasn’t because I didn’t finish the book either, but I have not had much time. Between the toddler and my husbands hockey schedule it’s been so exhausting. I’m sorry if I don’t always reply to comments on my posts either, I try to use the time I spend answering them lately to go to your blogs and read your posts and comment on them instead.

Husband will be carving the pumpkins tonight, so that should be exciting and tomorrow we might briefly take our boy trick or treating.

The Sunday Post/Weekly Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

Upcoming This Week

  • Maze of Souls (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #6) by J.L. Bryan
  • Mistletoe Cottage by Debbie Mason
  • Snowfall on Haven Point (Haven Point #5) by RaeAnne Thayne

New Arrivals

29939275 32608042

Thank you Minotaur Books and Entangled Publishing.

Tags:

Divider