Category: Wrap Up

Weekly Wrap up #17 – Slow Reading

Posted December 3, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 21 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

I’ve had a mixed reading week. It’s been a bit slow going ever since I read AN EX FOR CHRISTMAS BY LAUREN LAYNE. I really enjoyed it and it started my Christmas reading kick, unfortunately, it doesn’t feel like it’s going so well. A lot of Christmas books that I enjoy are romances, but for some reason Romances have not been working for me lately, so I am feeling a bit stuck.

I own about 127 Christmas books. You know what that makes me? A Christmas book Hoarder, heh.  So I will try and power through them.

Have you guys read anything really interesting lately? Looking to see what are your five star reviews this week/month.

Are you in the Christmas spirit yet? We are getting our tree soon, so that is exciting. I’m probably going to update the layout today or tomorrow, so hopefully I can start getting into the spirit myself.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

     

New Arrivals


  
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap up #16 – New Layout

Posted November 12, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 18 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Yes I got a new layout! It won’t last long with December around the corner – which is a shame cause I totally love it – but I didn’t want to end up like I did last year and keep my Halloween layout up forever, so I was feeling creative and viola!

It’s been COLD this week and we are all recovering from our head colds still and lacking a bit of sleep now that my two year old is also sick.

Reading wise I have completed my goodreads book challenge! I read 100 books this year which means my december will put me over

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

   

New Arrivals


  
Thank you Penguins YA/Children Publicity and random house
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap up #15 – Sick again

Posted November 5, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 19 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Ugh guys, I shouldn’t be surprised by this anymore right? I have been sick for the 3rd time in the last 2 1/2 months. Twice in September, luckily not once in October, but that’s okay because it caught up with me early November. It’s amazing the amount of germs toddlers can carry!

It was a good week otherwise. Most of you have already known we had a great Halloween, got lots of chocolate, my son is obsessed with it so he was super happy he got to ask people for more chocolate heh. He went as Cat Boy from PJ Masks, but I forgot to take pictures, because I was so caught up in the moment.

I am going to continue reading thriller, mysteries and some scary stuff through November if I can because starting December 1st I am throwing myself into Holiday books, and November just happens to be a good month for the creepy stuff as well.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

   
Yes I am still reading Dreadful Dreams, no I am not hating it. It’s taking me this long because the device I was originally reading it on made a disappearing act, so I must find it 🙂

New Arrivals


 
Thank you S&S Children and Avon Publishing
From Kindle Unlimited
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #14 – Rain!

Posted October 29, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 10 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Gah guys! I have a brain worm. I was sitting here reading and than this one story wormed it’s way into my head and I don’t know where it’s from. But it’s these kids? (maybe) and this town and how on Holloween ghosts, ghouls, skeletons? (not sure) come out and I think they look for people and there is something about them hiding and a graveyard and possible masks? Not sure.. I have this story stuck in my head and I don’t know if it was a short story, or a movie, or a dream. It’s frustrating.

It’s been raining all night and it will rain all day, so we are getting some family time in. First thing this morning my son did was put on his boots, turn to me and said “Let’s go jumping in muddle puddles” ha..

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

    

New Arrivals

 

Thank you S&S Children and St Martins Press/Macmillan

 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #13 – October almost over?!

Posted October 22, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 13 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

I cannot believe how fast October is flying! The next week in a half is going to be gone in a blink of an eye and then we are into the Thanksgiving month and Christmas.

Halloween should be fun, Trick or Treating this year in town is happening on Halloween because it will be on Tuesday so I guess it isn’t a worry for the townships.

My friend’s birthday is also October 30th, but we celebrate it with them on Halloween.

As far as reading this week I am a bit disappointed. I have been reading Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children way too long now. It was a slow start and I had the hardest time getting into it, I still do. I’m hoping to push through it today so I can move on with my life, I’m not sure how I feel about it. It’s kind of boring. I thought it be creepy, it was recommended as a creepy read by a few people, but it’s not. I tried the Audiobook because my library had it online and oh geesh I found it terrible.

I still have so much I wanted to read before Halloween, but it’s like really around the corner.

I placed another bookoutlet order, because I cannot seem to help myself.

How was your week. Any Halloween plans?

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

  

New Arrivals

Publisher

   

Thank you S&S Children Publicity, Crown Publicity, and Sourcebooks

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #12

Posted October 15, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 29 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Hi guys! Hope everyone is enjoying their October. We finally got some rain here this week, we been slowly going into some really bad drought because we had not had any rain in a month which is unusual for this time of year, it kind of felt like August was a month late this year – and we are in PA so figure that one out.

Outside of that I haven’t really been motivated this week by much, it’s turning cold again, the leaves are changing, it’s becoming beautiful outside. We all had a cold and the congestion does not seem to want to go away.

Anyone has been watching some good fall TV lately? I’m a little down because all my shows keep getting cancelled and to be honest that is just way too frustrating these days. I can’t even get into a show because of the fear that it won’t come back and I hate cliffhangers.

Also Hockey has been back but my team can’t seem to win.

Ha, anyway on the bright side. I read 5 books out of my TBR, which does not seem like a lot in retrospect to my TBR but I’m pretty happy. Also my first Bookoutlet haul came in and outside of getting one book wrong, I am pretty impressed.

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

 

New Arrivals

My first bookoutlet haul, it was a bit too much fun.

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap-Up #10 – I’m back

Posted September 3, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 27 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Phew, I think I am back you guys. It’s been a long summer, a super long summer and I have had my hands pretty full outside of the blog. But, just because I did not have the time to blog did not mean that I did not miss it or stop reading – I just didn’t read as much which makes me panic little because I am currently behind my goodreads goal for the year and still have so much books and ground I want to cover. BTW can you believe that it’s only like what, 4 months till freaken New Year? I think I can speak for many when I say I for one cannot wait for this year to be over.

Anyway, lately I really been into ghost stories and thrillers, especially domestic thrillers so if you guys have any recommendations, please let me know below. I just read The Marriage Lie and really enjoyed it

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

New Arrivals

 

Thank you HarperTeen, William Morrow, and HQ Digital

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap-Up #9

Posted May 28, 2017 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 20 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Hey guys, been a second there. It’s been super busy around here. Husband has been basically working seven days a week, so me and the little one have been keeping busy around the house.

Been trying to get my garden going, but it’s been a project and a half. It’s hard to explain to a 2 year old the difference between weeds and plants, especially when he just enjoys ripping both of them out 😉 really loves mommy’s reaction I guess.

Also, the weather has been kind of cool for may here.

Reading has been slow. I didn’t get as much done this month as I did last, it’s a bummer 🙁 Feeling a bit in the slump. Anyone have any awesome recommendations?

Hope you guys enjoy your holiday weekend!

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading

 

1. One of Us is Lying  -I am actually enjoying most of this, but its not blowing it out of the water for me.  2. Seven Years – It’s kind of fast paced and I love shifters, especially werewolves. But Lexi to me is TSTL and just so much stuff keeps piling up my head is spinning. 3. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August – I picked this up because of so many praising, so many good reviews. Struggling with it. The book feels a bit too dry for me. I have to focus on most of the chapters and I guess my mind is just not there.

New Arrivals

I’ll take a picture of them later.

 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Recap #8 and April Monthly Wrap Up

Posted April 30, 2017 by Lily B in Recap, Wrap Up / 17 Comments

Weekly Recap

I haven’t done this in a few weeks. My mind hasn’t really been in the right place. I’m doing better after losing my cat, so thank you all who reached out and for your kind words. I really, really appreciate it. Also, thank you Melissa from Books and Things for the lovely key chain to honor my fallen friend. I still have a hard time especially when I see his pictures, but I am doing better.

My reading has been going okay so far. I have my good days and my bad days. I have currently read 42 out of my goal of 100. I am 10 books ahead \o/. I am struggling. Lately any adult romance I pick up have been blah. Like literally leaving me in physical paints trying to read it. I’m one of those people that cannot DNF cause I feel like I already put some time into it I have to see it through – even if it’s causing a brain bleed.

Oh well, in between trying to plow threw the books that are not working for me, I have been picking others up. Currently I am listening to Sleeping Giants and it is probably the only Audiobook ever so far that I absolutely love. I love the different cast of people, it kind of reminds me of listening to one of those old radio shows. It’s awesome.

Anyway. If you guys have some good book recommendations, I’d love to hear what you are currently reading, or what you read that you loved so far?

Recap is a meme hosted by Kim @ Caffeinated Book Review

Last Week On The Blog

 

Monthly Wrap Up

In the month of April I read 11 books. Woah I know right? I did have some amazing reads. I really loved Alex, Approximately, Where the Dead Lie, Walk of Shame and Prisoner of Ice and Snow. I only gave one book this month and apparently this year and possibly ever a 1 star. I am starting to see that my reading and reviewing is different. I don’t give out 4.5 and 5 stars like candy. Most books average at 3 stars these days. Also, Sophia reviewed on the blog 4 times this month with some really interesting reads 🙂

Best of April

 

 

Currently Reading

1.Lethal Lies – This one is a struggle. I dislike Anya a lot, she is reckless, desperate and irritating. 2. Sleeping Giants – I am following my book while listening to the audio. I am loving this one so many levels. I wish I had more time to listen to it. 3. The Upside of Unrequited – Wish I read the blurb for this one because this one mentions body image and low self esteem and I already feel like I know where this is going and it isn’t clicking with me. I know Albertalli is beloved by people, I’m probably going to be a black sheep on this one.
 

Tags:

Divider