Category: Wrap Up

Weekly Wrap Up #31 – Where did May go?

Posted May 26, 2019 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 23 Comments

Weekly Recap

Where did May go? I feel like I blinked and it’s already the 26th! I hope the next two weeks will go just as quickly. Having health issues again, it’s really starting to cause me some anxiety, which in turn probably isn’t helping. I had to go to the ER this week with abdominal pain and that didn’t go so well. Not only did they miss my stomach issue on the CT scan, which I later learned from my surgeon, but they also gave me pain killers that you cannot give to someone with stomach issues which could have made everything that much worse. I also have a small hernia, which they also missed in the ER. I’m getting an endoscopy done on June 6th and I am both so nervous about the endoscopy and about the fact that it’s on June 6, which seems so far away. I want the pain to go away, it’s causing a lot of stress, which again, is not helpful.

So I’ve been focusing my attention elsewhere and that’s apparently shopping. I’ve bought so many books in the last couple of weeks, it’s starting to become a problem. I’ve discovered abebooks.com and that coupled with bookoutlet.com has become a problem.

Hope you guys are having a great three day weekend! Not much happening here, just me and my son oh and we have a new puppy 😀

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

New Arrivals

Thank you Berkley and ballantine books for The Girl in Red, The Missing Years ( I won this one from Jenni’s instagram @ Tar Heel Reader) and Keep You Close. The last came from various places from Abebooks.

 

 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #29 – Sad Week

Posted July 1, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 15 Comments

Weekly Recap

It’s been a long week you guys, especially Monday when we finally said goodbye to our long time family friend, our dog Porter. It wasn’t easy as for the most of Monday we spent waiting for the Vet to come to the house on pins and needles and we ended up having a hick up with the Vet’s office and despite the Vet’s being nice, their receptionist is something to be desired. It’s still hard for me to write this even a few days later without tearing up. His presence was greatly felt and his absence is greatly missed. We explained to out three year old that Porter was not coming back, but every other day he keeps asking me when is Porter coming back and it’s absolutely heartbreaking. I am still having days where I think he is at the house and when the realization hit that he is no longer sleeping on the couch or that I no longer need to feed him hit, it hurts a ton.

I had a doctor appointment and so far they don’t 100% sure what is wrong with me, so we will see what happens at the follow up. At the moment I have a gallbladder issue and possibly an ulcer, neither of which are fun so I have been placed on a low fat diet.

I managed to finish 9 books this month which is surprising, especially with 3 weeks out of this month being such a mess.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

   

New Arrivals

  

Thank you Harper, Berkley, Ballantine Books,  and Delacorte Press

Bought from Better World Books

 

 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #28 – Hard to Say Goodbye

Posted June 24, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 21 Comments

Weekly Recap

Some of you might have noticed my lack of activity and not visiting your blogs. It’s been a minute here guys. Two weeks ago, we found out our mastiff has cancer and only had probably a couple of weeks to live. Tomorrow, we say goodbye. It’s been stressful and heartbreaking, and I cannot seem to stop crying. On top of dealing with my own possible health issues that I get to find out about tomorrow, and taking care of my three year old. So the activity here on the blog will be at crawl place up until this sadness and heartbreak passes. We just lost a pet last year, so it has not been easy.

My Mystery Wrap book was – The Naturals (The Naturals, #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog





 

Currently Reading/Listening to

 

  New Arrivals

 

 
 

Tags:

Divider

May Monthly Wrap Up

Posted June 6, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 14 Comments

May Monthly Wrap Up

Welcome to June and to my May Monthly Wrap Up. May was an interesting month for me, I read only 1 ebook and the rest were either physical or audiobooks. So let’s make this wrap up quick. I managed to review 8 out of 9 Books this month. I have read a grand total of 55 books year to date and I am 4 books ahead of my Goodreads goal. Overall, due to life being in the way this month has been a bit slow.

Some quick stats about my month in May.

In May I read the grand total of 9 books.

Out of the 9 books, 6 of the books were physical books.

2 Books were Audiobooks

1 Books were Ebooks

8 Books were either a new ARC or an old ARC.

1 of the books were books I just wanted to read from my TBR

Star Rating for the Month of May

4 Stars – 6 Books

3 1/2 Stars – 4 Book

2 Stars – 1 Books

3 out of 11 Reviews posted in the Month of April were Guest Post from Sophia Rose

The Best of May

   
 

Guest Reviews in May

   

The Worst of May

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #27 – Slow

Posted June 3, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 14 Comments

Weekly Recap

Long stressful week, month. I need to put up my May Wrap up and guys, I don’t think I read a single ebook this month. The entire month of May was either a physical book or audiobook. How? Well, my kindle isn’t working well and that is what I use for my ebooks. The battery on it keeps running out anytime I try to read it , it’s low so I spend hours battling to charge it and if the wire moves it won’t charge. So that has not been fun, so I have been more into my physical books. I have been enjoying that. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to get a new one till at least August. I have been saying money to buy myself a lens and that has been a priority, so after that is out of the way, I’ll start putting money away for a new kindle.

Other than that, I am almost half way done with planting my garden so that is exciting!

I have read 54 Books this year so far and am still 4 books ahead of my challenge.

Also thank you Kim from Caffeinated Reviewer for helping me with some site stuff I have not understood in order to get my stuff sorted.

My Mystery Wrap book was – Was hoping to have one for you today but still chipping away at Everything I Never Told You

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

    
     

  New Arrivals

 

 
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #26 – Ugh

Posted May 20, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 14 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Take 3! For some reason I been battling to post this today because it kept erasing everything I already typed out… I’ve been a little slow lately. One, my husband is back to work so it’s just me and the little one until the sun goes down. He wants to spend a lot of time in the park and I cannot read there because I have to watch him and not just let him run wild. Two, we had a very stressful week about two weeks ago. We can’t put on our AC because we got baby birds nesting on the box covering it, so we have to wait till they leave to uncover it. So I opened a window and accidentally let me toddlers favorite kitty escape. We barely got any sleep for two nights and between having to look for her and doing still what we had to do, we were dead on our feet. We did get her with a humane trap our friends let us borrow at about 3 am after catching two other neighboring cats. This week another cat that looks JUST like her and just as friendly showed up on our street and I have a feeling she was dumped here. She did find her way to our neighbors and I think they will take care of her.

I have also been buying books because my kindle is on it’s last legs so I have been reading and enjoying physical books again. I also found that I can get some books cheaper in physical over how much it costs to get a kindle copy, and since we are trying to save for a house it’s a big plus.

My Mystery Wrap book was – Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng – I was kind of hoping to like it more than I am, but so far feeling kind of detached about it.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

     
     

  New Arrivals

There are but I lost all of what I did when I had to write this post up 3 times, I’ll post them at a later time.

 
 

Tags:

Divider

April Monthly Wrap Up

Posted May 2, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 9 Comments

April Monthly Wrap Up

Holy wow, it’s May. Where did April go? Does not feel like it happened around here, it was cold and yucky and it went from 45 degrees to 84 in two days, it’s weird. I had a good reading month. I read 17 books, yay me. I am 5 books ahead of my GR reading goal. I have two books that I am currently struggling with but for the most part, April was an awesome month.

Some quick stats about my month in April.

In April I read the grand total of 17 books.

Out of the 17 books, 10 of the books were physical books.

5 Books were Audiobooks

2 Books were Ebooks

10 Books were either a new ARC or an old ARC.

7 of the books were books I just wanted to read from my TBR

Star Rating for the Month of April

5 Stars – 0 books

4 1/2 Stars -4 Books

4 Stars – 3 Books

3 1/2 Stars – 4 Book

3 Stars – 5 Books

2 1/2 Stars – 1 Book

2 Stars – 0 Books

1 Star – 0 Books

3 out of 17 Reviews posted in the Month of April were Guest Post from Sophia Rose

The Best of April

     
 

Guest Reviews in April

  

The Worst of April

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #25

Posted April 29, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 16 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

It’s 45 degrees today and it was snowing this morning! You know what mother nature, I am not in the mood for that, you are stressing me out. By this point last year we had beautiful weather, but this year, the trees are just starting to bud. That aside, we did have a warm week, today alone just seems like winter fighting to stay.

I have bought some books from Abebooks, because feeling a bit broke, but still feeling the need to buy books apparently so I got a few used books. I also kind of want to write my experience with each store on there and the quality of the book they sent based on conditions advertised.

My Mystery Wrap Book this week was — Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse – This is actually last weeks mystery pick, but I didn’t have a chance to post last week and it’s taking me forever to read this cause… it’s pretty boring.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

    
Gods of Howl Mountain – out of my usual comfort zone but it looked interesting, as of at the moment tho.. not really my thing after all. Before we Met – suppose to be a thriller, but feels slow and boring. Murder Between The Lines – just started this so no real opinion yet. The narrator is good so far and so is the writing.
     

  New Arrivals

 
Thank you Bookouture, Thomas Nelson
 Bought

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #24

Posted April 15, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 17 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

This was felt really long! Husband is slowly back to work so it’s only been me and my 3 year old son, so it’s been quiet the week. This always comes with a healthy dose of stress as we try to kind of find another rhythm in our lives now that Spring is teasing us with it’s presence and summer around the corner. We got to go to the park a little and spend some time outside.

So I apparently shop for books while I stress, so it’s not a good thing, heh according to my husband. I am really in the mood for some light spring reads. Does anyone have any suggestion?

My Mystery Wrap Book this week was — Catacomb (Asylum #3) by Madeleine Roux

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

       

  New Arrivals

   
Bought
 

Tags:

Divider

Weekly Wrap Up #23

Posted April 8, 2018 by Lily B in Wrap Up / 16 Comments

Weekly Recap

 

Happy Sunday everybody! Happy Orthodox Easter Sunday to anyone out there that Celebrates it. This week has been long and busy for us out here. Right after April Fools Day when the weather was gorgeous and warm, we woke up to snow day. It was like mother nature was playing a joke on us the day after. It did warm up some so my husband was able to go back to work a little, hoping things will start to pick up soon. I have a special giveaway from the publisher for my US readers, enter below.

I have made ground on my physical TBR with my mystery picks so that is exciting. My goodreads Challenge is at 31/120 books.

I listened to Hounded by Kevin Hearne and WOW wish I picked this up sooner. I had a physical copy of it that I started and put down, but the audiobook was just amazing, I have a full review coming this week.

Currently reading a few books, but struggling with All the Beautiful Girls – it has sexual abuse in it and it has not been an easy read.

My next physical TBR and the mystery pick was – Nil (Nil, #1) by Lynne Matson

How are you guys doing?

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Last Week On The Blog

 

Currently Reading/Listening to

     

  New Arrivals

   I got a box of books for Spring/Summer from William Morrow, I’ll try to take a picture for next week.

Giveaway

Have a special giveaway for US residents only. The publisher is offering a copy of THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT by Karen White to one lucky winner. Rules are simple, fill out the raffle copter. Must be over 13 years old to enter, or have a parent enter for you. Must be a US resident and should you win, reply to the email within 48 hours.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tags:

Divider